Our Footprint

In 1992, Senator Ben Nelson (at the time Governor of the State of Nebraska) established the Nebraska Affordable Housing Commission, a 30 member committee that still exists today as the Nebraska Commission on Housing and Homelessness. One of the Commission’s first charges was to find a way to help Nebraska maximize the use of the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credits.  Out of that charge was born the Equity Fund of Nebraska, which launched its first fund in 1993.  The inaugural fund raised $4.75 million and invested in four developments.  From 1993 until 2000, we only invested in affordable housing developments in the State of Nebraska.

Then, in 2000, building on our success in Nebraska and responding to requests from government officials, MHEG expanded into Kansas. Our first Kansas Fund closed in 2001.  In 2001, the Equity Fund expanded into Iowa and changed its name to Midwest Housing Equity Group. Our first Iowa fund closed in 2002.  In 2005, again building on our prior successes and seeing a need, we expanded into Oklahoma.  The first Oklahoma fund closed in 2006.

In 2013, MHEG launched its first regional fund and expanded our footprint into six new states: Missouri, Arkansas, northern Texas, Colorado, South Dakota and Minnesota. Today, it is our privilege to help address these ten states’ need for quality affordable housing, thus fulfilling our mission to changing lives for a better tomorrow.

To see a complete list of all our developments in our region and view specific properties, visit our Portfolio section.